We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Dark Spektrum - Album

by Bates Belk

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

    ***DOWNLOAD FOR FREE*** Includes the singles "Euphoria", "Dancing with Bullets" and "Hallucinations" plus "The Dark Spektrum" digital booklet with lyrics and exclusive photos. Also includes an interview with Bates Belk on the making of "The Dark Spektrum" in Berlin.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


We’ve been warned History Has demonstrated our need to be free Enemies of yesterday We are ready come what may Dancing with bullets Evasion to the fullest Act now No time to waste Far too short to not have the taste We need to survive Can we say what it’s like to feel alive? We should all feel alive... The end is a mystery We chase our destiny Who knows the real outcome As we now dance in this dark spektrum Dancing with bullets Evasion to the fullest
You knew from the start Your plan to destroy my heart You got away...so far away Forever So clever Wanting your deceiving flame Haunting and taunting me You got away...so far away Forever So clever The signs The lies Your crimes Alibies Alibi You got away You got away So far away So far away How clever
Sensational 04:31
Death Threat 05:12
Euphoria 05:46



“The Dark Spektrum” was written and recorded in Berlin with over 50 Berlin-based collaborators including the Stargaze Orchestral collective and was mixed by renowned music producer Gareth Jones at Strongroom Studios in London. The new album features 11 brand new Bates Belk produced tracks including the singles “Euphoria”, “Dancing with Bullets” and “Hallucinations”.

The up-tempo and rhythmic album follows a cinematic storyline in a nighttime odyssey from sunset until sunrise. Themes experienced along the voyage of the dark spektrum on the album include danger, horror, power struggles, S&M, criminality, unrequited love, death, narcissism, dreams, illusions, ecstasy and freedom. The 11 songs sequenced on the album take everyone on a journey from dark to light.

Says Bates, “The word ‘dark’ means many things. ‘Dark’ brings out both negative and positive feelings in people. ‘Dark’ can represent extreme unhappiness, anger and evilness. ‘Dark’ can bring on mysterious actions in people. ‘Dark’ can allow people to be freer, to be exploratory and to solve curiosities in the dark shadows that they wouldn't normally get to experience potentially allowing those people to positive lives and adventures. ‘Dark’ can also represent nightfall which traditionally also allows people to experience higher levels of perceptions. The album takes place at night.”

Track-listing for “The Dark Spektrum”:

1. Dusk: Beware and Be Aware
2. Dancing with Bullets (featuring Coco SaFir)
3. The Pursuit of…
4. The Art of the Deal
5. Clever Criminal (featuring Valeska Rautenberg)
6. Sensational
7. Death Threat
8. Hallucinations (featuring Anne Elizabeth Sorbara)
9. Escapism (featuring Dorrey Lin Lyles)
10. Euphoria
11. Dawn: Revolve and Evolve


Copyright 2020 BB3 Dynamics Records, LLC


released March 6, 2020

Written and Produced by Bates Belk for BB3 Dynamics Records, LLC (BMI)
Mixed by Gareth Jones at Strongroom Studios London
Mastered by Frank Arkwright at Abbey Road Studios London

Recorded at Kaleidoscope Studios Berlin, K5 Studio Berlin, Neon Nursery Studios Berlin, Officer’s Dressing Room Studio Tempelhof Berlin, SoundCloud Studios Berlin, Studio Joneski Utrecht, Trixx Studios Berlin and Zeno Mainardi Studio Berlin.

Recording producers and engineers: Damian Press, David Jones, Kevin Reiter, Marcel Dadalto, Rafael Milia, Ralf Goldkind, Sam Jones and Zeno Mainardi

Synthesizers used on this album: Roland Jupiter-4, Roland SH-3A, Roland SH-09, Roland JV-1080, Roland MKS-50 & PG-300, Roland MKS-70, Dave Smith Instruments Tetra and Mopho, Waldorf Blofeld, Waldorf Streichfett, MFB Nanozwerg, MAM MB-33, Moog Little Phatty Stage II, Yamaha CS-15, Yamaha Reface DX, Korg MS-20 [mini], Serge Modular System, Synton Fenix II and III, Oberheim Xpander, Cwejman S1 mk2, Cyclone TT-303, Korg Polysix, Yamaha FS1R, Nord Modular G2

s t a r g a z e Orchestral Collective appears courtesy of Transgressive Records.

Album artwork: Bates Belk, Angela Liuzzi and Joanna Smolonska
Album photography: Nathan Wynn
Press photography: Sebastian Runge


Copyright 2020 BB3 Dynamics Records, LLC


all rights reserved



BB3 Dynamics Records Berlin, Germany

contact / help

Contact BB3 Dynamics Records

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like The Dark Spektrum - Album, you may also like: